Skip to content
Voykit

The Gambia

Gambia travel guide for Britons

Britons need a visa (e‑visa or visa on arrival) for Gambia; apply before travel unless you qualify for a short‑stay visa on arrival. If you obtain a visa, you can stay up to 90 days, otherwise you must leave earlier.

Updated Sep 20264 min read
More

Key facts

Visa requiredcheck
e‑visa or visa on arrival (check)
Maximum staycheck
90 days with visa (check)
Currency
Gambian dalasi (GMD), ~70‑75 per US$
Plug type
Type G, 230 V 50 Hz
Tipping
10 % in restaurants, guides and drivers expect tips
Emergency numberscheck
117 police, 116 ambulance, 118 fire (check)

Entry by passport

British passport holders must confirm visa and permitted-stay rules with the Gambia Immigration Department and the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office before booking. Rules, fees and permitted stay can change; this page is a dated draft and has not been field-verified.

The parent country facts for The Gambia do not state a visa rule, fee or permitted stay for UK passports, so treat any figure you see elsewhere as unconfirmed until the immigration authority confirms it for your travel dates.

Passport validity, blank pages and onward-ticket rules are set by the Gambia Immigration Department and the airline; check both before you pay for flights.

Entry by passport
ItemWhat to confirmStatus
Visa or ETA neededGambia Immigration Department / UK FCDO travel advicecheck
Permitted stayGambia Immigration Departmentcheck
Fee and payment methodGambia Immigration Departmentcheck
Passport validity ruleGambia Immigration Department / your airlinecheck
Onward or return ticketYour airlinecheck

Embassy

UK nationals in The Gambia are represented by the British High Commission in Dakar, Senegal, which handles consular matters for the country. Confirm current contact details, opening hours and out-of-hours arrangements on the FCDO travel advice page before you travel.

Register your trip and save the High Commission's details offline before departure. For emergencies inside The Gambia, the parent country facts list 117 police, 116 ambulance and 118 fire (check).

  • British High Commission, Dakar, Senegal — consular coverage for The Gambia (check)
  • UK FCDO travel advice for The Gambia — the page to confirm contacts and advisories (check)
  • Emergency numbers in The Gambia: 117 police, 116 ambulance, 118 fire (check)

Costs in local currency

Prices in The Gambia are quoted in dalasi (GMD). The parent country facts give roughly 70–75 GMD per US$ (check); convert to GBP at the rate on the day you pay, and expect cash to be the practical option outside hotels.

The parent country facts do not list dalasi prices for hotels, meals or transport, so this page does not quote a trip total. Build a budget from the cost of travel in Gambia page and confirm live prices with your hotel and tour operator.

Costs in local currency
ItemPriceStatus
CurrencyGambian dalasi (GMD)confirmed in parent facts
Exchange rateabout 70–75 GMD per US$check
Hotel, meal and tour pricesnot stated in the parent country factscheck
Restaurant tip10%confirmed in parent facts
Guides and driverstips expectedconfirmed in parent facts

Flights from main airports

Banjul International Airport (BJL) at Yundum is the main gateway; the resort strip on the Atlantic coast sits 15–20 km west of Banjul, per the parent country facts. Flight times, airlines and seasonal schedules from UK airports are not stated in the sources for this page, so confirm them with the airline or a flight planner.

The Gambia runs on UTC+0 (GMT) all year, so there is no clock change to plan around from the UK.

Flights from main airports
RouteDetailStatus
Main airportBanjul International (BJL), Yundumconfirmed in parent facts
Airport to coast resorts15–20 km west of Banjulconfirmed in parent facts
Flight time from the UKnot stated in the sourcescheck
Airlines and schedulesnot stated in the sourcescheck
Time zoneUTC+0 (GMT) all yearconfirmed in parent facts

Power and plugs

The Gambia uses UK Type G sockets at 230 V 50 Hz, so British three-pin plugs fit without an adapter. Bring a travel adapter only for non-UK devices.

Power cuts are possible; a small power bank is useful for phones and cameras.

Tipping

Tipping is expected by guides and drivers, and 10% is the norm in restaurants, per the parent country facts. Carry small dalasi notes for tips, and agree any guide or driver rate before the trip starts.

Emergency numbers

The parent country facts list 117 for police, 116 for ambulance and 118 for fire (check). Save these numbers offline, and note that mobile coverage and response times can vary outside the coastal resort area.

Emergency numbers
ServiceNumberStatus
Police117check
Ambulance116check
Fire118check

Questions people ask

Do Britons need a visa for Gambia?

Yes, a visa is required. You can apply online for an e‑visa or obtain a 30‑day visa on arrival if you meet the criteria.

How much does a trip to Gambia cost in GBP?

A typical 5‑night mid‑range trip costs between £800 and £1 200, covering flights, accommodation, meals and local transport.

Where is the nearest United Kingdom embassy in Gambia?

The UK is represented by the High Commission in Dakar, Senegal, which handles consular matters for British nationals in Gambia.

What plug type does Gambia use?

Gambia uses UK Type G plugs (230 V, 50 Hz), so British devices fit without an adapter.

Is tipping expected in Gambia?

Yes, tip about 10 % in restaurants and give small amounts to guides and drivers.

Verify with the official source

Draft, not field-verified

Rules, fees, schedules and prices change. Verify with the official source (the government, embassy, operator or venue) before you book or travel.

Deep dive

Every source; changeable facts are marked check

Sources

Ask about The Gambia

Loading…

Was this useful?